A Large Helping of Life

One bite at a time……

Christmas Morning! December 26, 2011

Filed under: Family — alargehelpingoflife @ 7:25 am
Tags: , ,

Merry Christmas!!!

I hope you all had a blessed Christmas.

  Christmas is always a fun time in our household. With 5 children there seems to be no dull moment. We have our little special ways of doing things and this year was no exception.

On Christmas eve we open one present which is always a new pair of pajamas to wear to bed on Christmas eve night.

Then it is off to bed for what I am sure is a long night of waiting for morning.

When the children get up they know to come wake up mommy and daddy. Then we all snuggle in our bed and wait for everyone else to wake up. (or be woken up by loud siblings)

Once everyone has gotten up we all snuggle and talk about Jesus’ birth and then we pray.

After we pray together I go down stairs and get the camera ready and turn on the Christmas lights and the music.

Waiting for the go ahead.

It’s finally time to open presents! The older boys have to help read the names and pass out to the right person.

(I love how Jonah has a one arm push up going on here)

I adore watching my children open their gifts and seeing the flood of excitement that follows with each present.

Such a joy to watch.

Exactly what he wanted. (No, not his 2 front teeth. Walkie talkies.)

Only little girls get absolutely excited over clothing accessories.

Hope enjoyed her gifts too but mostly she liked…..

The wrapping paper!

She loved it!

Last year Faith was a bit young to open presents and to understand what was going on and this year she really had it down.

Her little face lit up when she opened up her gifts.

It was a disaster after the presents were all opened.

Now it was time to play with all the toys!

My three boys.

Faith’s new baby doll.

She has been taking good care of her baby.

Jonah’s GI Joe flying high.

Then Joe got into a bit of a predicament.

The boys were enjoying listening to their new MP3 players. I loaded them up with their favorite songs and audio books.

Every time I turn around there is a new character there to greet me. (Jude)

One of the last things we do after presents and stockings is open the last door in our advent house.

This house has a door from the 1st to the 25th.

Each day the kids open a door and read the scripture inside and eat the treat that is there for them too.

One of my favorite traditions.

I also love all the cards I get!

Thank you everyone!

I hope you all had a very merry Christmas.

This year Christmas will be gone all to soon for us since we are packing up today and tomorrow and moving on Thursday.

So the new year will bring a lot for our family and I plan to keep you all updated right here!

Merry Christmas.

To Christ be the glory….

 

4 Responses to “Christmas Morning!”

  1. ohpapa Says:

    Merry Christmas!! Looks like you all had a wonderful holiday. My wife and I are excited to start our own holiday traditions next year. We just purchased our first home and moved in on the 17th. Best of luck with your move! I hope it goes smoothly and is relatively stress free.

  2. Chrisanne Says:

    Merry Christmas!!! It looks like it was a wonderful family celebration!!!

  3. Kendall Says:

    while reading this,i ACTUALLY thought Jonahs GIJoe was Shane SKYDIVING!!! it scared me till i read the caption! ~ thank goodness its not,due to his little tree prob! 🙂


Leave a comment